Postgraduate School - Introduction

Postgraduate (PG) programmes commenced in the University in November, 1982 under the supervision of the Senate Postgraduate Degree and Diploma Committee (SPD&DC) until 1985 when the Senate during the 1986/87 session established the Postgraduate School to take over the functions of the committee. Thereafter, the Postgraduate Board was constituted and the Postgraduate School was set up in the 1986/87 session. The first Dean, Prof. R. Kumar, was appointed in 1986.

Objective Of The Unit

Postgraduate programmes are intended to achieve the following:
  • Deepen the students’ grasp of a chosen field of knowledge
  • Introduce the students to techniques and tools of research.
  • Deepen the students’ grasp of a chosen field of knowledge
  • Introduce the students to techniques and tools of research.
  • Develop the students’ individual and collective spirit and capacity of inquiry to eventually enable them to make significant contributions to a chosen field of knowledge for the benefits of society.

Structure of The Unit

Vice chancellor

Dean, Postgraduate School

Associate Dean’s Office

Dean’s Secretary

Clerical Officers and ITC Officer

Director/Secretary, Postgraduate School

Exams and Records Office        

Director’ Secretary

Administrative/Clerical Officer

Deputy Bursar, Postgraduate School

Account’s Office

List Of Staff Data

NameRankArea Of SpecialisationEmail
Prof. A.J. TobyProfessor/
Prof. O.W. IgweAssociate/Dean PGSLawNIL
Desmond .I.
Neeuweh, Apollos D.Deputy
Onwuanaku, BlessingPrin. Conf. Sec.
Nnadozie, DickSenior Asst RegistrarAdmin. dutiesNIL
Weleh, EkanemAsst. Chief Exe. OfficerAdmin. dutiesNIL
Nwanodi , Esther FrankAsst. Chief Exec. OfficerAdmin.
Dan-Jumbo, Felicia VPrin. Chief. Conf. Sec.SecretaryNIL
Henrietta, AlaliboSystems Analyst/ ProgrammerIT
Ekweme, ChisaAsst. RegistrarAdmin.
Opusunju, Inyingiere GodwinAdmin. Officer IIAdmin.
Egumah, EberechiAdmin. Officer IIAdmin.
Ohaka, ChizinduAccounting IIAccounts/Finance
Ibiabuo Tammy KingsleyHigher Executive Officer (Account)Accounts/Fin.
Echeonwu, Mirabel NgoziSnr. Conf. Sec. ISecretarial
Kejeh, GraceHigher Executive OfficerAdmin
Onyije, Clement E. Principal Data Processing Officer IISecretarial dutiesNIL
Iboroma, AwolayeoforiPrincipal Executive OfficerAdmin. dutiesNIL
LongJohn, Ibelema BlessingHigher Executive Officer,
Briggs, AgathaSenior Clerical OfficerAdmin.
Ihunwo, CharityExecutive OfficerAdmin.
Barnabas, NwanodiHead MessengerMessengerNIL
Sunday, P. NeebaniChief DriverDriverNIL
Wokoma, OdephoodiniClerical
Paul OmerejiPrin. Executive OfficerAdmin. dutiesNIL
Asime, Zeb-ObipiClerical OfficerClerkNIL
Sokari, RoseCleanerCleanerNIL
Omereji, AmarachiCleanerCleanerNIL
Juliana TobyCleanerCleaner

Duties And Responsibilities Of The Unit

The duties of the unit include:

  • Admission of Postgraduate Students.
  • Clearance/registration of students.
  • Processing of students’ result (course work/graduating results).
  • Processing of students’ transcripts
  • Recommendation of student’s graduation results for approval by Senate.
  • Issuance of students’ success letters/Certificates
  • Verification of Students’ Certificates/Transcripts
  • Presentation of students’ for graduation at Convocation
  • Orientation of fresh Postgraduate Students
  • Formulation of Policies for Postgraduate Programmes
  • Formulation of Postgraduate guidelines for Dissertation/Thesis writing
  • The Postgraduate School operates as clearing house for the Departments, Faculties and Institutes.
  • Regular resolution of students’ complaints.
  • Liaises with external bodies like NUC and TETFUND in the uplifting of Academic standards and policies of the Postgraduate School.





B.Sc (Banking and Finance), MBA (Banking and Finance), PhD Business Policy (Financial Policy) RSUST, FIPFM (London), MCIB, FIMC, CMC, AMNIM

E-mail/Phone No 234(0) 8033104475

Adolphus Joseph Toby is a Professor of Banking and Corporate Finance and a Fellow, Institute of Professional Financial Managers, London.  He is also a registered member of the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria. He obtained his investment analyst certification at the West African Capital Market School, Lagos.  He has published widely in high-impact, peer-reviewed academic journals listed on Research gate, Google Scholar, SSRN and SCOPUS.He is author of a number of leading teaching/research books and monographs. He has served in several administrative positions in acting or substantive capacity, including Head of Department of Banking and Finance, Dean of Faculty of Management Sciences, Chairman of Nkpolu-UST Microfinance Bank Ltd, Chairman, Senate Business Committee, and Chairman, Assessments and Graduation Requirements Committee (A&GRC). He also served on the 11th and 12th Governing Councils of the University, providing services occasionally to the 13th Governing Council.  He is currently the Dean, Postgraduate School.

Achievements Of The Unit

  • We have introduced a ServiCom Desk in the Postgraduate School where students and the public can lodge their complaints and obtain regular information on postgraduate activities
  • There is a strong internal control mechanism to enhance prompt and accurate payment of fees.
  • Setting up of Thesis and Dissertation libraries in Postgraduate School
  • Regular conduct of viva voce examinations physically and online (Virtual Studio).
  • Prompt presentation of results to Senate for award of degrees/diplomas after viva voce examinations.
  • Online academic activities during Covid-19 Pandemic in 2019/2020 Academic Session
  • Mounting of part-time programmes in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences and Department of Library and Information Science, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Management Sciences.
  • Mounting of M.Sc/Ph.D programmes for MBA Students in the Faculty of Management Sciences.
  • Update of Postgraduate Guidelines for writing of Thesis/Dissertation 2022.
  • Mounting of M.Sc programme in Biorisk Management.

Upcoming Events

  • Orientation programme for incoming students for 2021/2022 Academic Session
  • Gradation of students for 2020/2021 Academic Session

Prospect Of The Unit

The prospect of the Postgraduate School is very bright and more viable today with the new and modern programmes we run.

The students’ population in the Postgraduate School has grown consistently and geometrically which resulted in the graduation of 4,970 Students during the 32nd Convocation Ceremony. The emphasis on qualitative programme content and delivery is enhancing further our ranking in the comity of Postgraduate Schools/Colleges in Nigeria.