Petroleum Engineering

Dr. Adaobi S. Nwosi-Anele

The Current Head of Department

Petroleum Engineering

The Department of Petroleum Engineering offers programmes leading to the award of Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech), Postgraduate diploma (PGD), Master of Technology (M. Tech), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in petroleum engineering.

Petroleum Engineering Department was established in 1995 under the Department of Chemical/Petrochemical Engineering to run courses leading to the award of Bachelor of Technology degree in petroleum engineering.

Consequently, the name of the department was modified to “Department of Chemical/Petrochemical and Petroleum Engineering.” Before this time, the Department of Chemical/Petrochemical Engineering was established in 1980 along with the Departments of Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Marine Engineering (established in 1974) in the School of Engineering of the former College of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt. 

On the 6th of August 1980, the law establishing the Rivers State University of Science and Technology was promulgated, which transferred to the University the assets and liabilities of the College. Thus, the School of Engineering in the former College of Science and Technology became the Faculty of Engineering of the University, comprising the aforementioned five departments.

In1995/1996 academic session, first batch of sixteen (16) students were admitted into the department out of which eight (8) graduated in the 1999/2000 academic sessions. In the 2008/2010 academic sessions, the department was presented for the National University Commission (NUC) accreditation and had full accreditation.

In November 2014, the Department of Petroleum Engineering was separated to be autonomous with a substantive head of department. In June 2015, the Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN); the body set up by Decree No. 55 of 1970 to control and regulate the practice of engineering profession in Nigeria, visited the department and gave full accreditation to her Bachelor of Technology Degree (B. Tech) programme. Subsequently, from 6th through 9th December 2015, NUC team visited the department again and the department scored a total of 87.7%. Based on the total score, the panel recommended full accreditation status for the programme. Also, from 29th to 30th April 2021, NUC visited the department again and gave a full accreditation.

Presently, the department has a total of 13 academic staff.  These includes; 0 Professor, 1 Reader, 2 Senior Lecturer; 3 Lecturer I; 4 Lecturer II; 1 Assistant Lecturer; and 2 Graduate Assistant.


Staff list in the Department

NameRankArea Of Specialisation Email
Engr. Dr. Mrs Adaobi Stephenie Nwosi-Anele, Ag. HODLecturer lPetroleum/Energy Economics and Engineering Management
Engr. Dr. Chukwuma Godwin Jacob NmegbuReaderMultiphase flow in pipes, Enhanced Oil Recovery, MEOR application in oil & gas recovery
Engr. Dr. Kingdom Kponanyie DuneSenior Lectureretroleum Production Enhancement, Multiphase Flow through Restrictions, and Oilfield Produced Water/Waste Management
Dr. Fidelis Wopara OnuohaSenior LecturerTransport Phenomena & Drilling Fluid Engineering
Engr. Dr. Ikechi IgweLecturer leservoir Modelling and Simulation
Engr. Bright Bariakpoa KinateLecturer lOil & Gas Production Engineering
Engr. Ephraim Wisdom OtumudiaLecturer llProduction Engineering and Formation Evaluation
Engr. Mrs Emeline Adaoma TempleLecturer llDrilling Engineering, Reservoir Engineering
Engr. Dickson Ugwunna AmadiLecturer llNatural Gas Engineering, Pipeline Engineering, and Multiphase Flow in Pipes
Engr. Nyelebuchi AmadichukuLecturer llOil & Gas Production Engineering
Mr Jeremiah Ifeanyi OkoromaAssistant LecturerPetroleum Engineering
Mr Uchenna Daniel ElikeeGraduate AssistantPetroleum Engineering
Mr Kingdom Onyemauche ChokoGraduate AssistantPetroleum Engineering
Mrs Harmony Agbonma Chimezie-NwosuChief TechnologistWater, Oil, Soil Analysis, Drilling Fluid & Cement Analysis Core Analysis
Mr Coxson Lucky NeebeeSenior Technologist lTechnologist
Mr Prince Azundah OkparaTechnologist llTechnologist
Mr Chinna Eri-Dona ChinnaTechnologist llTechnologist
Mr Chize KalagborTechnologist llTechnologist
Mr Emmanuel OkahTechnologist llTechnologist
Mr Kale Kelvin VipeneTechnologist llTechnologist
Mrs Nkem Odua IchematiConfidential Secretary ISecretarial duties, Clerical duties & other duties as assigned by HOD.
Mrs Grace Leyira Israel- AbialePrincipal Executive OfficerGeneral Office management, Preparation of departmental meeting venues and minutes,Office correspondence
Mr Edwin Iwan KaribiAdministrative Officer llAdministrative matters in the department
Mr Temple BekeeMessenger lDispatching of mails, filing, & other duties as assigned by HOD.
Mrs Helen Letor SundayCleanerCleaning and sanitizing offices in the department, Classrooms and rest rooms


The undergraduate programme in Petroleum Engineering is designed to apply the basic principles of the physical sciences of mathematics, physics, chemistry, geology, geophysics as well as the various engineering principles for the safe and efficient exploration, development, production, transportation and management of petroleum (oil and gas) resources.


The objectives of the programme in the Department of Petroleum Engineering are to:

1. Inculcate in candidates the ability to apply engineering principles and practices for the safe and efficient exploration, exploitation and management of petroleum resources.

  • Train engineers who can design processes and machines, and maintain oilfield equipment for the exploitation of earth’s petroleum resources in an environmentally safe and efficient manner.
  • Prepare and read/interpret process flow drawings (PFDs) and other work schedules.
  • Broaden the aptitude of candidates with respect to critical reasoning, good professional judgment and the ability to take responsibility when undertaking important tasks.
  • Build capacity for the efficient management of fund, hardware, software and people.
  • Improve on indigenous technology with a view to problem solving and resource optimization.