Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology

Dr (Mrs) M. G. Ajuru

Ag. Head of Department

Plant Science and Biotechnology

The Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology (PS&B) started as an option (Botany) in the then Department of Biological Sciences, which later changed to Department of Applied and Environmental Biology in the Faculty of Science.

It became a full-fledged department in 2015, with Prof. B.O. Green as the pioneer Head of department.

Plant Science is required in diverse fields such as Agriculture, Natural product chemistry, Forestry, Horticulture, Pharmacology, Pharmacognosy, Ecotourism and Wood technology. Biotechnology simplifies understanding of all areas of Plant Science at the molecular level.

Staff list in the Department

NameRankArea Of SpecialisationEmail
Prof. A. B. (HOD)ProfessorPlant
Prof. B. O GreenProfessorPlant Professor Taxonomy /
Prof. E.C. ChukuProfessorPlant
Prof. E. T. JajaProfessorPlant;
Dr. M.T.V.
Dr. M. G AjuruSenior LecturerPlant Taxonomy /
Dr. F. W. NmomSenior LecturerMycology/ Plant
Dr. V. WilsonSenior LecturerPlant Breeding
Dr. E. O. WehkeLecturer IIPlant
Dr. F. C. N OkogbuleLecturer IIPlant Pathologyabebefortuneokogbule@gmail
Dr. N. AmadiLecturer IIPlant Ecology noble.amadi1@ust/
Dr. O. S. ChukuLecturer Plant
Dr. C. W. WorluLecturer IIPlant
Dr. K. A. KpekotAssistant LecturerPlant
Mr. S. S. AgbagwaAssistant LecturerPlant
Mrs. W. E. J. NnejiAssistant LecturerPlant
Mrs. N.O. IdoniboyeVolunteer Lecturer Molecular Biology &
Mr. I.E. AzuonwuTechnologist
P. I. OwabieTechnologist


The main responsibility of the Department is to produce students with a sound knowledge and understanding of the concepts and methodologies of Plant Science and Biotechnology in the key areas that meet the needs of the society. A Bachelor degree in the programme will provide a broad foundation in the education of students for positions in the conservation and biodiversity sectors, as well as professional studies in Plant Science at the molecular level.


The Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology was approved without further divisions or options. All students in a particular level/year of study offer the same courses. Year 2 students (in particular) borrow relevant courses from the Departments of Microbiology and Animal and Environmental Biology. However, at the final year students may choose seminar and project topics in any area of their choice.

The Administrative set up of the department has the head of department at the apex, (reports directly to the Dean of Faculty), overseeing both the academic and non-academic functions in the department. Leadership is provided at the apex. The head of department at the apex is followed by a post graduate coordinator who oversees the post graduate programme of the department. The organogram below gives a detailed outlay of the departmental units and their different hierarchies.







Organizational structure of the Department

In addition, the Department has two Boards that are responsible for the decision making process.


These Boards are:

    • The Departmental Board and
    • The Board of Examiners

The Departmental Board, which is made up of all academic staff not below the rank of Graduate Assistant senior staff of the Department, including senior non-academic staff, deliberates on issues of general interests to the Department. The Departmental Board of Examiners is made up of only academic staff and it considers academic matters as it affects the students. To facilitate the activities of these Boards, members of staff are allocated specific duties as well. Examples of these include having staff in-charge of issues like Examination, Postgraduate matters, Calendar and Timetable, Research and Publications, and Students Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES).

To further involve staff in decision making, the Department has in place the following committees:

  • Curriculum Committee
  • Equipment Committee
  • Welfare Committee
  • Examinations Committee
  • Postgraduate Committee
  • Sanitation Committee
  • Disciplinary Committee
  • SIWES Committee


The primary philosophy of the department is to produce and equip our graduands with the required knowledge and skills in Animal Production by providing them with relevant education in Animal Agriculture as applied to all stages and phases of production and distribution of both macro- and micro-livestock and their products. Additionally, our philosophy is driven-based on the vision of promoting intensive theoretical and practical (on farm and laboratory) training in sustainable livestock production. This is achievable through the mission of promoting innovative and industry driven, collaborative and sustainable research in the basic aspects of Animal Science using the approved curriculum with strong emphasis on professional standards. The ultimate goal being to produce skilled professional manpower well-equipped with comprehensive knowledge to produce the different livestock species relevant to the national and global animal production industry.


Animal Science Department programmes are primarily designed with the goal of producing graduates who possess sufficient knowledge and competence to effectively and efficiently perform the following:

  • Own and operate profitable ventures in animal production and its related fields
  • Function as high level technical staff in various facets of the Animal Industry.
  • Extend the technologies involved in optimal animal production to rural communities.
  • Develop innovative practices in Animal Agriculture through sound understanding of the principles and practices of animal husbandry.
  • Continue to learn and acquire additional skills as new technologies emerge
  • Undergo advance studies in Animal Science
  • Register and practice as professional with the Nigerian Institute of Animal Science.