Department of Microbiology

Dr. Lawrence O. Amadi

The Current Head of Department


The Department of Microbiology was established as a new Department in the Faculty of Science following the split of Department of Applied and Environmental Biology into three (3) new departments (Applied and Environmental Biology (AEB), Microbiology (MCB) and Plant Science and Biotechnology (PSB)] in 2015/2016 academic session and the pioneer Head of Department was appointed to oversee the running of the Department.

In 2016/2017 session, the establishment of the Department was confirmed by the NUC Resource Verification Team, since then the Department of Microbiology became a full-fledged Department in the Faculty of Science. The Department runs a four-year programme that leads to the award of Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree in Microbiology. The undergraduate programme is designed to provide fundamental knowledge in Microbiology and its application is such that the graduates are well equipped to meet the changing needs of modern scientific knowledge in bio-scientific and biotechnological studies.

The Postgraduate programme of the Department had her graduands in 2019/2020 Academic Session. A wide spectrum of Microbiological areas of specialization are covered in the Department at *PGD, M.Sc and Ph.D levels which include; 

  • Food Microbiology
  • Industrial Microbiology
  • Environmental Microbiology
  • Public Health Microbiology
  • Clinical/Pathogenic Microbiology
  • *Public Health
  • *Microbiology

Staff list in the Department

NameRankArea Of SpecialisationEmail
Dr. L.O. AmadiReaderFood/Industrial Microbiology
Prof. T.G. SokariProfessorFood Microbiology/Technology/
Prof. O. ObireProfessorEnvironmental Microbiology
Prof. Ogbonna ProfessorEnvironmental/Food Microbiology & Waste Management
Prof.N.N. OduProfessorFood/Public Health Microbiology
Prof. S.A. Wemedo ProfessorEnvironmental/Soil Microbiology/
Dr, N.P. AkaniReaderEnvironmental & Public Health
Dr. J.O. WilliamsSenior lecturerEnvironmental/Industrial
Dr. S.I. DouglasSenior lecturerEnvironmental/Industrial
Dr. C.J. UgbomaSenior lecturerEnvironmental/Industrial
Dr.T.SampsonSenior lecturerEnvironmental/Public Health
Dr. R.R. NriorLecturer lEnvironmental Microbiology/Toxicologyrenner4nrior@gmail,com
Dr. L.P. PeekateLecturer lEnvironmental
Mr. G.C. DiseghaLecturer
Dr. O. AleruchiLecturer llEnvironmental
Mrs. B.S. BaranuLecturer llMicrobiology/Environmental
Miss G.B. BaekaLecturer llClinical
Mr. S.I.OgbonnaAssistant
Mr. P.N. BarikaAssistant lecturerPublic Health
Miss P.C. MebomGraduate AssistantEnvironmental
Mrs. O. Ejims-EnwukweGraduate AssistantMicrobiology/Public
Mrs. A.A. 1. TasiePrincipal TechnologistApplied Biology
Mr. S.S. BaridamTechnologist lBiomedical
Mr. G.C. NwokochaHigher Technical Assist./Dept.
Mr. A.S. Oroantank- poSenior Technical AssistantTechnical
Mr. E. AmadiTechnologist
Miss J.V. Ezeonyili- mbaTechnologist llApplied Biology (Microbiology Option)
Mrs. A. AmechiTechnologist
Miss H.O OvundaLaboratory Scientist
Mrs. I.J.T. IbanigboChief Confidential
Miss F.G. OwhondaHigher Executive


Through a well-articulated academic curriculum and syllabus tailored to NUC

requirements and with competent Professors, Readers and lecturers, the Department is

saddled with the duties and responsibilities of equipping the students with knowledge

and professional skills to practice in their chosen field at the appropriate level. Students

are also trained in both character and learning to fit properly into the larger society after

graduation. through involvement in Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES),

Entrepreneurial Practice and other projects that connects them with others.

Duties in the department are carried out by committees headed by coordinators/officers

assigned by the Head of Department. These officers in turn report to the Head of Department who supervises their duties.

Committees include;

  • Curriculum committee
  • Equipment committee
  • Welfare committee
  • Examinations committee
  • Registration committee
  • Postgraduate committee
  • Sanitation committee
  • Disciplinary committee
  • SIWES committee
  • Research & Developments

Departmental meetings are held every month. During meetings issues affecting or likely to affect the wellbeing of microbiology staff and students as well as the teaching of course(s) are raised, deliberated, debated and finally resolved cordially for the enhancement and sustainability of our existence, role as staff and relationship with students and the administration.


Organizational Structure (Organogram)


Postgraduate Unit                                         




Undergraduate Unit


Chief  L.Technologist


Organisational structure of the Department of Microbiology.

The organisational structure has the Head of Department at the apex, followed by the Postgraduate unit that is headed by a Postgraduate Coordinator.  On the same hierarchy is the Undergraduate unit which includes Registration and Examination Officers. The Chief Technologist oversees activities in the laboratories and reports to the Head of Department, so also does the Secretary with the administrative staff.


Microbiology as a discipline is a dynamic profession that is practical-oriented, and is designed to provide a broad base for fundamental scientific knowledge as concerns the role of microorganisms in sustainable development. Several sub-disciplines including Environmental, Food, Industrial and Clinical/Public Health and Pharmaceutical Microbiology are of immense benefit to man. The knowledge of Microbiology has been beneficial to the petro-chemical companies, food manufacturing/processing and pharmaceutical industries, brewing industries, oil/gas industries, agriculture, government ministries and regulatory agencies, non-governmental organizations as well as medical sector, both nationally and internationally. In line with changing global needs, the study of Microbiology will be of immense help in solving the problems arising from soil infertility, food/industrial production, oil pollution, environmental management and bioremediation/restoration, and disease control.


The objectives of the Microbiology programme are to:

  • Advance knowledge of Microbiology in order to enhance the skills and expertise required for self-reliance and gainful employment.
  • Educate the students on the importance of research and development using microbiological concepts for the development of our immediate community and nation.
  • Train students capable of applying principles of microbiology in the promotion and maintenance of health and management of communicable diseases.
  • Produce middle and high level manpower who can engage in experimental and analytical work in the field of microbiology.
  • Prepare students for higher education in order to advance in the knowledge of Microbiology and be able to solve the problems of mankind and environment.