RSU VC inaugurates Website Optimization Committee

RSU VC inaugurates Website Optimization Committee

As part of measures to improve its website and make it more contemporary and interactive, the Vice-Chancellor of the Rivers State University, Port Harcourt, Prof. Nlerum S. Okogbule, has inaugurated a 15-member Website Optimization Committee, with the Deputy Director, Information and Communication Technology Centre (ICTC) as Chairman.

Speaking during the inauguration Ceremony held at the Vice-Chancellor’s Conference Room on Wednesday 6th April, 2022, the VC noted that the Chairman and members were carefully selected across the various departments/units to bring to bear their expertise. He urged them to put in their best in the assignment, which he said will be a legacy for posterity.

The VC charged them to work in the interest of the University within the Terms of Reference and submit their report in 3 weeks, assuring that the University Management will provide the necessary support towards the success of the task.

In his remarks, the Director of ICTC, Prof. Issac Zeb-Obipi, said that when he assumed office as Director last week, he resolved to do something about University Website that has been found to be obsolete and doesn’t befit the current status of the institution.

He expressed gratitude to the Vice-Chancellor for approving the Website Optimization Committee, stating that the Committee will address the defects of the Website and make the University more visible.

On his part, the Chairman of the Committee, Dr. Sunny Orike, thanked the Management of the University for the appointment and assured that the Committee will deliver within the time given to her. In attendance at the inauguration were other Principal Officers of the University: Prof. S. N. Okoroma (DVC Adm.), Prof. V. Omubo-Pepple (DVC Acad), Dr. S. C. Enyindah (Registrar), Dr. J. N. Igwela (Liberian) and a representative of the Bursar (Mr. J. Ebere).

Other members of the Website Optimization Committee include:
Dr. Vincent I. Anireh (Computer Science); Dr. Sorbarikor Lebura (Management); Dr. Iboh Okidim (Agric. Econs ); Mrs. Theresa Belema Chris Biriowu (Cinematography & Broadcasting); Mr. Donald Ene (Technical / ICTC), Dr. Gift Eke (Bursary/ICTC); Mr. Gogo Ngor (Library); Mr. Victor G. Banigo (IPP Unit); Mr. Barine Aeba (Establishment); Mr. Nwene Onu (Academic Staff/ICTC); Surv. Victor Angless (RSU Alumni); Mr. Ekpo Isaac Daniel (PGSA PRO); Mr. Eze Chinedu(SUG PRO); Dr. Ibitoroko Ben George(Establishment) Secretary.

Victor Banigo
IPP Unit (06/04/22)

5 Responses
  1. Prof. R. N. Amadi

    The new ICTC leadership has displayed evidence of pragmatism indicating that activities in the Institution will be visible in world wide domen. Congratulations and more power to your elbow.

  2. Dr. Nedie Patience Akani

    This is a welcomed development that will further increase visibility of this prestigious University

  3. Professor Bright C. Opara

    Good thinking that will improve the visibility of the academic staff and the University in general.

Leave a Reply